dictionary definition page with minimum wage highlighted in red

What’s Minimum Wage in My State?

This article was last edited on 1/3/2020. For updated information on state minimum wage laws, visit https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state.

The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Each state, however, may have a different requirement.

State Minimum Wage
Alabama N/A
Alaska $10.19
Arizona $12
Arkansas $10
California $12 or $13
Colorado $12
Connecticut $11
Delaware $9.25
Florida $8.56
Georgia $5.15
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $9.25
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana N/A
Maine $12
Maryland $11
Massachusetts $12.75
Michigan $9.65
Minnesota $8.15 or $10
Mississippi N/A
Missouri $9.45
Montana $4 or $8.65
Nebraska $9
Nevada $7.25 or $8.25
New Hampshire $7.25
New Jersey $11
New Mexico $9
New York $11.80, $13, or $15
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $7.25 or $8.70
Oklahoma $2 or $7.25
Oregon $11.25
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $10.50
South Carolina N/A
South Dakota $9.30
Tennessee N/A
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $10.96
Virginia $7.25
Washington $13.50
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $5.15

How much do I have to pay my team members?

If your employees are protected by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), you must pay them at least minimum wage. If your state’s minimum wage is higher than the federal requirement, you must pay at least as much as your state requires.

Some workers, however, may be exempt from minimum wage laws:

  • Tipped employees who earn at least $30 in tips per month can be paid $2.13 per hour in direct wages. However, if their direct wages and tips do not add up to the federal minimum wage, you must pay the difference. Read also: How to Deal with Tips & Taxes
  • Workers with disabilities can be paid less than minimum wage if you get a certificate from the Department of Labor (DOL).
  • Full-time students cannot receive less than 85% of minimum wage.
  • Children under 20 can be paid $4.25 per hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of work.
  • High school students who are at least 16 years old and enrolled in vocational school (called “student learners”) cannot receive less than 75% of minimum wage.

Deciding how much to pay your workers is challenging. Check out these tips to help you determine the right amount.